Skip to main content

Scope of Work

Last page update:

The 21 APEC member economies jointly work towards the realization of free and open trade and investment in the Asia-Pacific by 2020 and the establishment of greater regional community to address the economic and social dimensions of development—a commitment made by APEC leaders in 1994 known as the Bogor Goals.

The three pillars of APEC's agenda focus on:

1. Trade and Investment Liberalization

APEC members take actions to reduce tariff and non-tariff barriers to trade and investment that boosts job creation, incomes and growth. Collaboration is guided by APEC's Regional Economic Integration agenda and includes the advancement of bilateral and regional trade agreements and the long-term goal of a Free Trade Area of the Asia-Pacific (FTAAP).

2. Business Facilitation

APEC members pursue measures to reduce the time, cost and uncertainty of doing business in the region and open new economic opportunities including for small firms, women and youth. APEC's Structural Reform agenda supports the development and harmonization of policies that improve market access and efficiency, and uphold public interest such as the safeguarding of health and safety.

3. Economic and Technical Cooperation (ECOTECH)

ECOTECH builds the technical capacity of APEC's diverse members to promote trade, investment and robust, secure and sustainable economic growth that widely benefits the region's people. Priorities include strengthening anti-corruption, cross-border education and skills training, emergency preparedness, energy security, environmental protection, defense against pandemics and infrastructure development, among others.